Equal Employment Opportunity Commission

The federal agency that is responsible for enforcing laws that prohibit job discrimination is the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission (EEOC). It has been in existence since 1964 when it was created by Congress for the enforcing of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act. The headquarters of the EEOC is in Washington, DC, and there are 53 field offices around the rest of the states. When charges of discrimination are reported, the EEOC investigates them and makes moves towards settlement. Where they are not successful in settling the charges, then the EEOC may file a lawsuit for the individual or public.

Employees and employers constantly require information, so the EEOC also carries out outreach programs and technical assistance programs so that discrimination cases can be prevented. In these programs, education on the EOCC legislation is shared including: –

  • Prohibiting discrimination
  • Equal access to employment for qualified individuals with disabilities
  • Provision for equal pay

The laws that the EOCC enforces apply to a range of work situations. These include hiring and firing, training, promotions, any forms of harassment, benefits, and wages. Employers that are generally subject to the EEOC are those who have at least 15 employees.

Quick Facts
Go to Website